ChatGPT Can Be Useful To Authors, Even If It Still Seems Weird

Is it cheating?

Crissi Langwell 🦋
4 min readMar 2, 2023

--

Photo by Jason Leung on Unsplash

Ok, I’ve avoided ChatGPT forever (a month-ish). This whole AI thing is creepy, and soon we’ll be using AI to provide all our creativity. Robots are taking over the world! But today I saw an interesting Medium article on using AI to come up with headlines, and I had to admit it was a brilliant idea. I mean, I’ve used headline generators before. And while the results are usually weird, it will often trigger something in me so that I can come up with a better headline.

So why not do this for the books I write?

No. Not writing the book. There’s a line. But the title?

It’s so weird, it could work.

Coming up with a title for any of my books is right up there with writing a blurb about it. THE WORST. I can write 75,000 words to a story, but sum it up in just a few to make people want to read it? Impossible. I decline. Do not make me do this.

Alas, I must if I want to actually put my books out there. That said, I’m not sure I have…

--

--

Crissi Langwell 🦋

Romance & women’s fiction author. I write on Medium about a variety of topics because I’m not good at staying in one lane. crissilangwell.com/links