I Wake Up Two Hours Early Every Morning to Accomplish Nothing

And yet, it’s the most productive part of my day. Here’s how I spend it.

Crissi Langwell 🦋
5 min readDec 20, 2021

--

Photo by Amy Humphries on Unsplash

Years ago, when I decided to take my author business seriously and publish one to two novels each year, the biggest change I made was to my morning routine. Instead of sleeping in until it was time to get ready for work, I set my alarm for two hours early so I could write. As soon as the alarm sounded, I’d make a beeline for my coffee and then sit at the computer, typing out a few pre-writing lines until I was awake enough to write for real.

I’ve always been a morning person, so it’s natural for me to dedicate the first part of my morning to the thing I care the most about. Not just for writing, but for the seasons I dedicated my energy to my physical health. Like most people, I dread the gym. But when I go to the gym first thing in the morning, I get it done and can move on with my day.

Waking up early was great for when I decided to go back to school, and was probably the only way I was able to do this and still work full-time. I’ve used my early mornings for getting caught up on chores, writing freelance articles, work on my newsletters, or begin the day with a fast walk or slow jog. Every morning, the alarm goes off at 4:30 a.m., and I’m up to accomplish the project…

--

--

Crissi Langwell 🦋

Romance & women’s fiction author. I write on Medium about a variety of topics because I’m not good at staying in one lane. crissilangwell.com/links